ScaleRichView caret visibility problem BCB2007 Win7
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:11 pm
- Location: Northern California
ScaleRichView caret visibility problem BCB2007 Win7
USING: Unregistered RichView v. 12, RichView Actions, ScaledRichView, etc. with Embarcadero C++ Builder 2007 Professional and Windows 7
I have the unregistered version of ScaleRichView on a form, but the caret only blinks (one blink) when the cursor enters/hovers over an active control - a toolbar button or scrollbar arrow, for example. The caret is set to be visible with blink rate = 500 (all default when dropped on a form).
I have tried to explicitly call Focussed() on the ScaleRichEdit, ShowCaret() on the form handle, the ScaleRichEdit handle, and the internal RichViewEditor handle. I've tried to explicitly call Format() - but the behavior is always the same, just ONE blink when the mouse enters an active control, or clicks the ScaleRichEdit. But there is never a continuously blinking caret.
I've started to wonder if this is some kind of limitation of the unregistered version?
I have the unregistered version of ScaleRichView on a form, but the caret only blinks (one blink) when the cursor enters/hovers over an active control - a toolbar button or scrollbar arrow, for example. The caret is set to be visible with blink rate = 500 (all default when dropped on a form).
I have tried to explicitly call Focussed() on the ScaleRichEdit, ShowCaret() on the form handle, the ScaleRichEdit handle, and the internal RichViewEditor handle. I've tried to explicitly call Format() - but the behavior is always the same, just ONE blink when the mouse enters an active control, or clicks the ScaleRichEdit. But there is never a continuously blinking caret.
I've started to wonder if this is some kind of limitation of the unregistered version?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17557
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Does this problem occurs with the compiled demo
( http://www.trichview.com/resources/acti ... ontest.zip )?
( http://www.trichview.com/resources/acti ... ontest.zip )?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:11 pm
- Location: Northern California
The FIRST time I ran the demo I had the same problem - the caret is only visible for a blink or two when the mouse cursor passes over or hovers on an active control.
BUT - the next five times I ran the demo the caret worked correctly!
Unfortunately my application (which at this point is very similar to your demo - just a scaled rich view, external RVStyle, two rulers, and toolbars hooked to RVActions) always fails.
Also any test I build fails (create a new Windows Forms app, drop a scaled rich view and run under debug or release - same peoblem with the caret)
If I build a test with just a "standard" TRichViewEdit the caret behaves correctly - it only seems to be a problem with ScaledRichView.
Remember this is C++ Builder 2007, under Windows 7 64-bit.
BUT - the next five times I ran the demo the caret worked correctly!
Unfortunately my application (which at this point is very similar to your demo - just a scaled rich view, external RVStyle, two rulers, and toolbars hooked to RVActions) always fails.
Also any test I build fails (create a new Windows Forms app, drop a scaled rich view and run under debug or release - same peoblem with the caret)
If I build a test with just a "standard" TRichViewEdit the caret behaves correctly - it only seems to be a problem with ScaledRichView.
Remember this is C++ Builder 2007, under Windows 7 64-bit.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:11 pm
- Location: Northern California
Ahhhh - I just gave your demo another five runs - the caret problem happened on every one of them.
This is really strange - it must be something here on my machine taht causes such an unpredictable problem with the demo, but a consistent one with my app - unless it has to do with the demo being built with the registered version?
I need to find a machine that doesn't have Windows 7 and see what happens there....
This is really strange - it must be something here on my machine taht causes such an unpredictable problem with the demo, but a consistent one with my app - unless it has to do with the demo being built with the registered version?
I need to find a machine that doesn't have Windows 7 and see what happens there....
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:11 pm
- Location: Northern California
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17557
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17557
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Hi,
now i tested again with the following configuration:
Windows 7 Home Premium (German edition, 32 bit). I created a new user account to ensure the default settings. Design: Aero "Windows 7". 96 dpi.
ScaleRichView application: I used your demo application PM_StretchToFit from ScaleRichView 3.1.1, compiled under Windows XP SP3, Delphi 2006 for Win32.
Starting the application, in the left editor window the caret appears only one single time. When entering text, the caret appears one single time just after entering each letter. Additionally, the caret appears one single time at each mouse click inside the editor. When entering letters or clicking with the mouse quickly, the caret appears in the same frequency, that means, the following trigger passes the previous trigger; this is the standard behaviour, but the repeating is missing.
When clicking another component outside the editor, the caret appears one single time too. For example, first entering text in the editor, and following a click on the Landscape radio button, the caret appears one single time. Clicking in the editor, the caret appears one single time. Then clicking the Portrait radio button, the caret appears one single time again.
Just as theAntiELVIS wrote in January, the error does not occur if the design Basic is used, for eample by changing the design in the control panel or by changing the properties of the application icon on the compatibility tab.
Additionally i tested under Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit: The same result.
Any idea, how to get it running well?
Ekkehart v. Renesse
now i tested again with the following configuration:
Windows 7 Home Premium (German edition, 32 bit). I created a new user account to ensure the default settings. Design: Aero "Windows 7". 96 dpi.
ScaleRichView application: I used your demo application PM_StretchToFit from ScaleRichView 3.1.1, compiled under Windows XP SP3, Delphi 2006 for Win32.
Starting the application, in the left editor window the caret appears only one single time. When entering text, the caret appears one single time just after entering each letter. Additionally, the caret appears one single time at each mouse click inside the editor. When entering letters or clicking with the mouse quickly, the caret appears in the same frequency, that means, the following trigger passes the previous trigger; this is the standard behaviour, but the repeating is missing.
When clicking another component outside the editor, the caret appears one single time too. For example, first entering text in the editor, and following a click on the Landscape radio button, the caret appears one single time. Clicking in the editor, the caret appears one single time. Then clicking the Portrait radio button, the caret appears one single time again.
Just as theAntiELVIS wrote in January, the error does not occur if the design Basic is used, for eample by changing the design in the control panel or by changing the properties of the application icon on the compatibility tab.
Additionally i tested under Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit: The same result.
Any idea, how to get it running well?
Ekkehart v. Renesse
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17557
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Hi,
maybe i found a possible solution for this problem:
In this procedure
i inserted Repaint OR Refresh OR Invalidate before calling MoveTo/LineTo. With this, the caret is blinking permanently also under Windows 7.
Calling Repaint OR Refresh after calling MoveTo/LineTo does not help.
Please check this solution. Maybe a condition "if Windows 7..." might be necessary.
Ekkehart v. Renesse
maybe i found a possible solution for this problem:
In this procedure
Code: Select all
procedure TSRichViewEdit.UpdateCaret(LockRepaint: Boolean; PaintRect : TRect);
.....
// paint rectangle
if (FActiveEditor.TopLevelEditor.Focused) or (ScrollBarH.Focused) or
(ScrollBarV.Focused) then
if not (FViewProperty.FShowScrollHint and fHintScroll) then
begin
//Repaint;
//Refresh;
Invalidate; // <<<------------ Repaint OR Refresh OR Invalidate helps
Canvas.MoveTo(p.X, p.y);
Canvas.LineTo(p.X, p.y + dY);
//Repaint; // <<<------------ In this psoition it does NOT help
//Refresh;
end;
.....
end;
Calling Repaint OR Refresh after calling MoveTo/LineTo does not help.
Please check this solution. Maybe a condition "if Windows 7..." might be necessary.
Ekkehart v. Renesse
Hi,
thanks for the new version. Unfortunately, the caret problem under Windows 7 is not solved.
I tried my solution (Invalidate) again, but now it does not help any more. Even under Windows XP, this Invalidate causes the caret to disappear under all circumstances.
May be, i have to reinstall the old versions later, but now i can spend some time to wait for your instructions for further tests.
Ekkehart v. Renesse
thanks for the new version. Unfortunately, the caret problem under Windows 7 is not solved.
I tried my solution (Invalidate) again, but now it does not help any more. Even under Windows XP, this Invalidate causes the caret to disappear under all circumstances.
May be, i have to reinstall the old versions later, but now i can spend some time to wait for your instructions for further tests.
Ekkehart v. Renesse
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17557
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Hi,
calling Update doesn't help. I tested Invalidate, Update, Refresh and Repaint in 4 different positions A..D in the code of TSRichViewEdit.UpdateCaret:
Results for Windows XP:
Invalidate: A, B, C, D nok (not ok).
Update: A, B, D: ok, C nok.
Refresh: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Repaint: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Results for Windows 7:
Invalidate: A, B, C, D nok.
Update: A, B, C, D nok.
Refresh: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Repaint: A ok, B, C, D nok.
I don't know the code changes you implemented since previous version, but may be, this results will help you a little bit. It is very confusing, that the caret problem under Windows 7 doesn't appear on all machines. I have two machines running Windows 7, and only one machine shows the problem; this machine has installes both Windows 7 32 bit and 64 bit, and both with the caret problem.
Now i can use Repaint in position A. If you want further tests, please let me know.
Ekkehart v. Renesse
calling Update doesn't help. I tested Invalidate, Update, Refresh and Repaint in 4 different positions A..D in the code of TSRichViewEdit.UpdateCaret:
Code: Select all
...
if not(ReadOnly and (rvoHideReadOnlyCaret in RVEditorOptions)) and FCaretVisible then
if IntersectRect(tmp, Bounds(p.x, p.y, CaretBitmap.Width, FCaretHeight), PaintRect) and
fShowCaret and ShowCaret then
begin
Canvas.Brush.Color := FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Color;
// remember old background
CaretRect := Rect(p.X - FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Width, p.y,
p.X + FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Width,
p.y + dY + FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Width);
CaretBitmap.Canvas.CopyRect(Rect(0, 0,
FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Width shl 1,
dY + FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Width),
Canvas, CaretRect);
// paint new background
Canvas.Brush.Color := FPageProperty.FCaretPen.Color;
Canvas.Pen.Assign(FPageProperty.FCaretPen);
// paint rectangle
if (FActiveEditor.TopLevelEditor.Focused) or (ScrollBarH.Focused) or
(ScrollBarV.Focused) then
if not (FViewProperty.FShowScrollHint and fHintScroll) then
begin
// Position A:
//Invalidate;
//Update;
//Refresh;
//Repaint;
Canvas.MoveTo(p.X, p.y);
Canvas.LineTo(p.X, p.y + dY);
// Position B:
//Invalidate;
//Update;
//Refresh;
//Repaint;
end;
end
else
// restore background
// Position C:
//Invalidate;
//Update;
//Refresh;
//Repaint;
Canvas.CopyRect(CaretRect, CaretBitmap.Canvas,
Rect(0, 0,
CaretRect.Right - CaretRect.Left,
CaretRect.Bottom - CaretRect.Top));
// Position D:
//Invalidate;
//Update;
//Refresh;
//Repaint;
fBusyCaret := FALSE;
Invalidate: A, B, C, D nok (not ok).
Update: A, B, D: ok, C nok.
Refresh: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Repaint: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Results for Windows 7:
Invalidate: A, B, C, D nok.
Update: A, B, C, D nok.
Refresh: A ok, B, C, D nok.
Repaint: A ok, B, C, D nok.
I don't know the code changes you implemented since previous version, but may be, this results will help you a little bit. It is very confusing, that the caret problem under Windows 7 doesn't appear on all machines. I have two machines running Windows 7, and only one machine shows the problem; this machine has installes both Windows 7 32 bit and 64 bit, and both with the caret problem.
Now i can use Repaint in position A. If you want further tests, please let me know.
Ekkehart v. Renesse